IMAGE JOINERY IN THE STYLE OF DAVID HOCKNEY’S

"Mosaic montage of leaves", Seb Faull, 2014
“Mosaic montage of leaves”, Seb Faull, 2014

This is a mosaic montage I have done in the style of David Hockney. I executed this by using one photograph only using a DSLR Canon 40D with an f-stop 2.8 and a shutter speed of 1/100 and using light reflectors to diffuse the light. I then made some slight adjustments on Camera Raw to enhance the colours and sharpness of the image. I then opened the image on photoshop to turn the single image into a grid of overlapping layers. Using this process one would learn some useful techniques. I.e. how to make actions, how to make custom grids and great layer handling skills.

These are the adjustments I made on the original image.
These are the adjustments I made on the original image.

 

Now with the image opened on Photoshop I create a new picture to produce my grid.
Now with the image opened on Photoshop I create a new picture to produce my grid.

 

So now I selected the whole picture
So now I selected the whole picture,

 

I edited this selection with a stroke of 1px and the colour black
I edited this selection with a stroke of 1 pixel and the colour black

 

ggg
So now I’m turning this image to a pattern by ‘Define Pattern’.

 

ggg
I save the pattern as Grid 500 and closed it, as it’s already saved as one. (I could also use this particular pattern another time on an another document).

 

gg
So now back on the original Leaf image I made a new layer for my grid.

 

g
I filled this new layer, but not with a colour, but with the pattern we have saved – Grid 500.

 

gg
I then inserted it from the Custom Patterns.

 

g
Here’s my Grid 500.

 

g
I wanted to change the colours round so I Inverted the colours,

 

g
and used the Blend mode to Screen to see the layer underneath through my grid.

 

g
As you can see here.

 

g
Now we want all the squares to become their own individual layers. To make this efficient and to prevent this being repetitive it’s useful to use Actions within Photoshop.

 

f
To create an Action on Photoshop you can use the shortcut ‘alt f9’.

 

g
On Actions you make a new action and name it to what you like and record; what an action does is it records everything you perform until when you stop the recording. Now what you will need to do is select the first square on the grid using the Magic Wand tool and go to select the Background. On the keyboard press the shortcut ‘cmd j’ to copy the selection on to a new layer. To make the layer 80% opacity as opposed to the default 100%, press another shortcut ‘8’. Now finally click on the Grid layer so that becomes selected/active at the end. So now you click stop.

 

g
So now, with the Magic Wand tool selected you can just click each square consecutively and play the action which you have just saved and it will perform the task you have just recorded. This creates a much faster work flow (saves time).

 

g
So as you can see in my layers panel each individual square on the grid is being saved on their own layer.

 

f
So now you don’t need the grid you or the background, so delete or turn off the Grid layer and create a new layer above the Background layer.

 

Fill
Fill the new layer White which is going to give the image a washed out effect.

 

f
To move each square on the grid you need the select tool. To make this process a bit faster you select the Auto-Select function which selects the layer that the square is on.

 

f
Then you just change the positions of the squares that were aligned with the grid and rotate them slightly.

 

f

Add some Drop Shadow to make it look as if they are layered one on top of each other as if they were acting like a real montage of photographs.

 

f
You can apply the same Drop Shadow values just by holding the ‘alt’ key and clicking and dragging the ‘fx’ icon on to the layer you wish.

 

To make it look something like this.
Leave a Reply

